Kolkata, Mar 16 2020: West Bengal State Government awards Mohun Bagan team for winning the I-League title for the fifth time. Mariners beat Aizawl FC on 10th of March to reach unassailable 39 points in 16 matches. The award was presented at the Netaji Indoor Stadium, Kolkata at the state Govt event – Khelashree Awards. The whole Mohun Bagan Football team was present at the event with the club officials flaunting the new #Champion5 jersey. The State Govt. awarded Rs. 21 lakhs cash and a trophy for the I-League winners. West Bengal Chief Minister Ms. Mamata Banerjee was present at the award ceremony and wished Mohun Bagan all the best for the upcoming season.

Also today, a letter was sent from The Asian Football Confederation for Mohun Bagan for “winning the season title in India” along with other champions. In a letter to All India Football Federation General Secretary Mr. Kushal Das, General, Dato Windsor John, General Secretary, AFC wrote: “On behalf of the Asian Football Confederation, I would like to congratulate FC Goa, Mohun Bagan and ATK for winning the season titles in India!”

Over the growing spread of global pandemic of the coronavirus, currently all, the matches of I-League are postponed. We do not have a resume date yet. Mariners are likely to return to the practice ground on March 30.