Mohun Bagan Players Celebrate After a Dismissal
Mohun Bagan Players Celebrate After a Dismissal

Salt Lake City, May 10, 2019: Mohun Bagan is through to the Semi Final of CAB SENIOR KNOCK OUT CHAMPIONSHIP PLAY-OFF 2018-19 by beating Eastern Railway in the quarterfinal by 5 wickets today at the Jadavpur University Salt Lake Campus ground. Mohun Bagan reached the target of 164 runs in 34.1 overs with five wickets to spare thanks to the great batting by Jayojit, Sudip,Debabrata, Arindam and Writtick. Bagan bowlers were excellent in the first half to restrict Eastern Railway to a feeble score of 163.
Eastern Railway won the toss and elected to bat first. Bagan bowlers were very economical from the start. Though in first ten overs Bagan could not break the opening pair, Eastern Railway scored just 34. Bagan spinners Writtick, Rajkumar and Tuhin came to the action and Eastern Railway were struggling as 59/4 losing four quick wickets. They could never really recover from there and lost wickets in regular intervals. Eastern Railway could gather only 163 losing all the ten wickets. Jayojit, Sourav and Tuhin took two wickets each while Rajkumar claimed three.

image3 3

In response, Bagan lost opener Sumanta(1) in the second over but captain Sudip (21) and Jayojit (45) steadied the innings. They put on a 40 runs partnership. Also Writtick (17), Sayan (16) contributed some runs. Bagan was at a point 118/5. However, Arindam (30) and Debabrata (31) showed some fiery batting and reached the target in 34.1 overs with a huge six. Jayojit was adjudged the Man of the match. Mohun Bagan will face the winner of Wari vs Town Club match in the Semi Final.

Jayojit receiving the Man Of The Match accolade
Jayojit receiving the Man Of The Match accolade


Eastern Railway : 163/10 (39.1 overs)

Mohun Bagan Athletic Club: 164/5 (34.1 overs)

MOHUN BAGAN A.C won by 5 wickets

Player Of The Match : Jayojit Basu

Team List : Sudip Chatterjee (C), Vivek Singh, Jayojit Basu, Arindam Ghosh, Debabrata Das, Wrttick Chatterje, Tuhin Banerjee, Sourav Mondal, Sumanta Gupta, Rajkumar Paul, Sayan Sekhar Pal

Match Center Live Updates