Mohun Bagan u-15 Team against Bhowanipore on April 16, 2019
Mohun Bagan u-15 Team against Bhowanipore on April 16, 2019

Barrackpore, April 16, 2019 – Mohun Bagan u-15 colts emerged as winners against Bhawanipore u-15 team in the Hero Junior League away match at Barrackpore stadium today. The match was scheduled to start at 3:00 PM. However, due to the excessive heat officials decided to start the match at 3:30 PM considering the health of the players. Bagan boys started with an attacking mindset right from the kick off. Despite repeated attempts, Mohun Bagan juniors were not able to take lead until the 29th minute. Md. Faizan (Jersey No 10) broke the deadlock in the 29th minute when he scored a beautiful goal. Nevertheless, Bagan could not maintain the lead for more than fifteen minutes. In the 44th minute Bhawanipore earned a penalty for a mistake of Bagan defender. Ibran Ali did not miss from the spot and brought Bhawanipore back into the match just before the half time. Bagan went into the lemon break with score tied 1-1. To shuffle things around Bagan coach Arun Saha made a substitution to bring Asish Sardar in place of Md Abdul Sahin Gazi.

The second half did not start well for the young mariners as Bhawanipore quickly took a lead when Sk. Joshim Uddin scored in the 56th minute. However, thanks to back-to-back strikes from the hat-trick hero Md. Faizan in the 58th and 62ndminute Bagan quickly got back the lead. Bagan increased the lead in the 71st minute when Akash Oraow (Jersey No 9) scored a brilliant goal from with a brilliant left footed long ranger to top right corner.  So currently Mohun Bagan is in second position in the Kolkata: Group C of the Hero Junior League with 7 points from four matches while Sports Authority of India leads the table with 8 points from same number of matches. Mohun Bagan juniors will face Sports Authority of India (Apr-18) and Baranagar Sporting Club (Apr-21) in the next group stage matches at Mohun Bagan ground.

Mohun Bagan : Subha Saha(GK), Bijoy Biswas, MD Abdul Sahin Gazi (Asish Sardar 45’+3’), Akash Oraow, MD Faizan, Suniti Raj Mondal, Dip Mahata, Sajal Bag(C), Debajyoti Bayen (Atanu Chakrabarty 68’), SK. Sahid Islam(Rohan Ghosh 73’), Deb Das

Goals: Md. Faizan – 29’, 58’, 62’ & Akash Oraow 71’

Yellow Card: Bijoy Biswas, Akash Oraow