Captain Sudip Guiding Mohun Bagan Ship
Captain Sudip Guiding Mohun Bagan Ship

Kolkata, May 2, 2019:Mohun Bagan beat Kalighat Sporting Club in the semifinal of the J.C. Mukherjee knock out T-20 trophy by 21 runs. The stars of the match were surely Captain Sudip Chatterjee with his splendid 77 of 56 balls with 9 boundaries and 2 huge sixes and Man of the match Rajkumar Paul with a magnificent 26/3 spell which includes key wickets of Abhishek Raman, Abhimanyu Easwaran and Sumit.
Mohun Bagan won the toss and elected to bat first. Bagan did not start the innings well as both the openers were back in the pavilion before commencement of the fifth over with only 36 runs on the scoreboard. In addition, Bagan had tried to accelerate the run rate by sending Rajkumar up in the batting order as first down. However, that failed as he was out on the first ball. At this point Bagan was not looking great with the score of 36/3. Nevertheless, Bagan middle order batsmen displayed some fine pieces of batting and steadied the ship for Bagan. Captain Sudip built a solid partnership of 45 runs with Arindam (23). After Arindam’s dismissal Writtick also played some fascinating shots to score 23 (12) quickly. In the last two overs, Debabrata Das (21 of 10 balls) hit some big boundaries to take the final score to 171 in 20 overs.
While chasing, Kalighat openers were scoring very fast
and their score was 74/0 in 8 overs in no time. Mohun Bagan left handed spinner Rajkumar broke the opening partnership by getting Abhishek Raman out. In the following over, he took two important wickets of Abhimanyu and Sumit and Kalighat was 89/3 after 11 overs. The other Bagan spinner Tuhin also bowled brilliantly with a magical figure 4-0-24-2. Paceman Rahul Sethi also bowled economically with 4-0-22-2. Kalighat started to lose wickets in regular intervals and could not keep up the momentum. Kalighat finished the chase at 150 in 20 overs – 21 runs short. Due to his excellent bowling figures, Rajkumar got the Player of the Match accolade.
Bagan will meet ABP Sporting club, who beat Aryan Club by 3 runs in the other semifinal, in the final today at 5:00PM . Follow all the live updates at the Match Center on the website.

Rajkumar Paul  receiving the Man Of The Match accolade
Rajkumar Paul receiving the Man Of The Match accolade
Debabrata Das scoring a quick 21 of 10 balls
Debabrata Das scoring a quick 21 of 10 balls


Mohun Bagan Athletic Club: 171/6(19.3 overs)

Kalighat Club: 150/7(20.0 Overs)
MOHUN BAGAN A.C won by 21 runs

Player Of The Match : Rajkumar Paul
Team List : Sudip Chatterjee (C), Vivek Singh, Jayojit Basu, Arindam Ghosh, Debabrata Das, Wrttick Chatterje, Tuhin Banerjee, Sourav Mondal, Ayan Bhattacharyya, Rajkumar Paul, Rahul Sethi