Mohun Bagan Team Celebration
Mohun Bagan Team Celebration

Salt Lake, April 18, 2019: Brilliant bowling at the death overs by the Bagan bowlers ensured their win in the second round knockout match of J.C. Mukherjee T-20 trophy against Dalhousie A.C. At one point, Dalhousie needed 34 runs in last four overs with five wickets in hand. However, by putting pressure on the opposition by bowling economically and taking wickets in regular intervals, Mohun Bagan won the match easily.
Mohun Bagan captain Sudip Chatterjee won the toss and elected to bat first.Mohun Bagan did not start very well losing Vivek Singh in the third over. However, the other opener Jayojit Basu played a sturdy innings of 26. Debabrata Das showed some real power hitting during the end of the innings getting 35 runs out of 18 balls with a strike rate of 194.44. Mohun Bagan managed to score 131/7 in 20 overs.
Mohun Bagan bowlers started the second innings very well picking up wickets early in the match. Man of the Match Rajkumar Paul picked two wickets in fourth over in consecutive deliveries. Dalhousie were 43/4 in 10 overs and Bagan was, at that point,the clear favourite of the match. But then a 62 runs partnership between Chandan Singh and Rishav Das started to shift the balance of the match.
Then Tuhin Banerjee got Mohun Bagan a break through by dismissing Rishav Das. Tuhin finished with a brilliant figure of 4-0-11-1. All the Bagan bowlers started putting the ball in the right places giving the batsmen little room to play big shots. As the pressure increased, Dalhousie lost couple of wickets in quick succession. Brilliant batting by Chandan Singh (49*) could not save the day for Dalhousie. Dalhousie finished at 119/7 after 20 overs. Raj Kumar Paul was adjudged as the player of the match with a brilliant figure of 4-0-18-3. With this win Mohun Bagan is through to the third round of the J.C. Mukherjee trophy.

Rajkumar Paul With Man Of the Match Accolade
Rajkumar Paul With Man Of the Match Accolade

Score Card

MOHUN BAGAN A.C : 131/7 (20.0 Overs)
Dalhousie A.C: 119/7 (20.0 Overs)
MOHUN BAGAN A.C  won by 12 runs
Player Of The Match : Rajkumar Paul
Team List : Sudip Chatterjee (C), Vivek Singh, Jayojit Basu, Arindam Ghosh, Debabrata Das, Wrttick Chatterje, Tuhin Banerjee, Sourav Mondol, Ayan Bhattacharyya, Rajkumar Paul, Rahuk Sethi

Match Center Live Updates